breaking the “august-cycle”

august, over the past few years, has not been a very pleasant month for me. to begin with, in 2019, i had experienced a slow, yet continuous heartbreak throughout the month. similarly, in 2021, someone i had considered to be the “love of my life” had ended things with me in august. not to mention, i had spent the entire month in an unhealthy relationship that completely ruined my mental health while causing me to feel suicidal. keeping all of those experiences in mind, i had been depressed last august too as i knew i was going to shift to another continent soon. 

this year, however, i decided to break the “august-cycle” and for once, feel happy and grateful for the life i have. of course, none of that would have been possible without the love and support of my family members who have never stopped me from doing what i want. 

with a heart filled with joy, i can say that august’23 has one of the best months of my life. among the many good things that happened over the past few weeks was my visit to bath — a city in the uk. that trip, in every way, was magical for me as it involved me seeing a shooting star on the night of the 4th of august. a few weeks after that, on the 20th, i managed to travel to canterbury and it was fascinating how i saw both — an ancient and a medieval city in the uk. then, on the 29th, i made a day trip to cambridge and had the most amazing time doing punting where my friend and i could cover ourselves with a blanket and see all of cambridge university. fun fact: i lunched at sally lunn’s, old weaver’s house, and fitzbillies — the most famous eating spots in the three cities. 

furthermore, as a film reviewer, i could watch and review two indian films and web series this month alongside working on my master’s dissertation and phd applications. i shall forever remember these days of my life as they are a testament of me being able to push myself in spite of my terrible mental health and neurodivergent personality traits.

this blog, i have to admit, had been revived after my breakup on the 29th of august’22. as i complete two years of that relationship getting over, i can only consider that phase of my life to be a blessing in disguise since it brought me closer to my authentic self. yes, i have felt extremely heartbroken and depressed and still have a lot of healing left to do. nonetheless, i know for a fact that i am no longer where i used to be in 2021 and for now, that is one of my biggest realities. 

i can not end this without saying that my relationship with my almighty strengthened this month. that, of course, has little to do with the material aspects of what all i could partake in. 

i am hoping to master the art of creating magic in my own life as this beautiful month comes to an end. 

9 Comments

  1. For sure it’s a blessing to have a self-realization and letting things go where they deserve. That acceptance and self love is a pure bliss to receive the best blessings from Almight. Be blessed dear one ❤💛

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Upasana,
    I so pleased that you have happy memories of the UK. I love the city of Bath. I’ve never been to Cambridge! I must try and visit it.
    I wish you well and trust and hope you weave lots of magic,
    Lesley 💗

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello Lesley! Thank you so much for saying all these wonderful things 💖 please try visiting Cambridge and let me know how you liked it :’) wishing you lots of happiness and magic 🪄

      Like

Leave a comment