reflections (iii)

people who know how to romanticise their lives have it a lot easier than the rest of us — things just always miraculously work out for them. i often wonder why some individuals are always happy, how they have the ability to acquire quirks from here and there, and what it is that makes others seek their company all the time. 

i’d be lying if i said i’ve been able to figure out the response to that. 

well, they say happiness is a choice. if that’s the case, then i am sure it is a really tough choice to act upon. i am aware of that because i, in spite of wanting to be happy and after doing everything i felt i needed to do, have been doing happiness wrong, all along. 

things were different when i was a child, though. back then, even dubbed animes about the mundane lives of certain fictional characters living in tokyo would add magic to my life. i wasn’t an overachiever or a straight-a student as an eight-year-old, but was so much happier. 

is capitalism responsible for my sadness or did i, one day, just get lazy and stopped faking it till i could make it? 

nevertheless, it’s weird how powerfully destructive my happiness can get, at times. i believe the darkest phases in my life have always been a result of my blissful ignorance during moments of extreme joy. this makes me question myself on whether it was i whose negative energy “manifested” the global pandemic three years back. as delusional as it sounds, the timing of it was perfectly in sync with the deterioration of my mental health. 

over the past few years, i have grown a lot spiritually. however, what i continue to struggle with are my feelings of anger, frustration, pain, and the perpetual gloom. 

12 Comments

  1. Perpetual gloom is hard to shake. But it can be done. I suggest “doing”. Just choose things you like to do, no matter what they are. And do it. That generally brings satisfaction. (Or frustration when it doesn’t work out, but then you start again…)
    🙏🏻

    Like

  2. No one is always happy-go-lucky; it’s just an assumption, and perhaps those happy people only show their happy side and not the side when they are depressed and sobbing, questioning their purpose of existence. It happens to everyone; only some are better at managing their emotions and pretending.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I think a lot of us struggle with those intense emotions of pain and distress. I don’t know when it all went wrong too. I was once happy, naive and loved life. Then I became a brooding, haunted individual with poor mental health, struggling to do anything. So I can relate to this. As far as people for whom things click are concerned, I guess either life isn’t fair or they’re suffering in their own ways, as clichéd as that might sound. Really well written piece though.

    Like

  4. I don’t feel qualified to comment on anyone’s journey but would like to share my understanding ( still at in its fledgling state). Scientifically speaking, we are a product of the numerous neurotransmitters that govern and influence our thinking tutored and tailored according to the society in which we have brought up. Secondly, to be able to live a truly fulfilling life, we need to travel within, be comfortable with our own selves, and be our own best friends. This is my humble opinion and not irrefutable. Best wishes. 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment